Senior BJP leaders eyeing Rajya Sabha seat

BJP senior leaders rajya sabha

Jai Kumar



There could be a fierce competition within BJP over the Rajya Sabha seat falling vacant in Uttarakhand shortly.

Presently, Uttarakhand has three Rajya Sabha seats and all the three are with Congress. Congress leaders Mahendra Singh Mahra, Raj Babbar and Pradeep Tamta are the three Rajya Sabha MPs from the state.  Out of these three, Mahendra Singh Mahra’s tenure is going to complete in the first week of April and thus BJP stalwarts in the state are eyeing this Rajya Sabha seat, which will now go to BJP with the rout of Congress in the incumbent assembly elections.

Among  the hopefuls include former chief minister and now senior BJP leader Vijay Bahuguna, State BJP President Ajay Bhatt and party’s national spokesman Anil Baloni are some of claimants to the seat.  Vijay Bahuguna has been hoping to get a place in the Rajya Sabha for long and had even not contested the assembly elections. Similarly, state BJP President Ajay Bhatt had lost assembly elections from Ranikhet assembly elections and would also like to go to the Rajya Sabha.

However, BJP adjusting some of its senior central BJP leaders cannot be ruled out.