Malaysia offers consultancy to Uttarakhand in infrastructure projects

Malaysia offers Uttarakhand consultancy

eNewsDesk Bureau

DEHRADUN, April 4:

Malaysia has offered consultancy to Uttarakhand in respect of infrastructure projects in the state. This offer was made to Uttarakhand Government in New Delhi on Tuesday during a meeting of a Malaysian delegation with Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat. The delegation was led by Malaysian Minister of Works Haji Fadillah Bin Haji Yusof and comprised of various representatives of Malaysian business community as well as government officials of Malaysia.

Malaysian delegation has offered consultancy regarding its expertise in urban development and in particular regarding transportation like Metro and Roadways.

The meeting which was held at Uttarakhand Sadan in New Delhi also discussed joint ventures based on Public Private Partnership (PPP) model. Besides this, the Malaysian delegation also proposed to support the infrastructure related projects in Uttarakhand by its consultancy firm Performance Management and Delivery Unit to draw a blueprint for the infrastructure development in the state. Both the parties agreed to set up a Joint Working Committee (JCW) which would be holding its first meeting in Malaysia to chalk out strategies and prepare blueprint for infrastructure development, including metro train and better road network in Uttarakhand.

Speaking on the occasion, Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat noted that there was a need to establish good coordination between the Uttarakhand Government, The Performance Management & Delivery Unit of the Malaysian Government as well as the Malaysian Government for better cooperation. He added that the meeting was successful and it had been a good and positive initiative and the state government was optimistic about positive outcome of the meeting.

On the occasion, Rawat also invited the Malaysian delegation to Uttarakhand for a tour of the state and get a better idea about the state and its beauty. During the meeting it was decided that Chief secretary, Additional Chief Secretary and various department heads would be named as members of the committee from the Uttarakhand side and Secretary Routine Affairs Johari Haji Akob and other senior officers would be members of the committee from the Malaysian side.

Cooperative Minister Dhan Singh Rawat, Chief Secretary S. Ramaswamy, Additional Chief Secretary Om Prakash and Resident Commissioner S.D. Sharma were among those present on the occasion.