Congress declares candidates on 63 seats in Uttarakhand

congress candidate list 2017 uttarakhand

Arun Pratap Singh


DEHRADUN, Jan 22: After several rounds of marathon meetings of the central election committee (CEC) to decide the candidates for Uttarakhand over a period of more than a week, the Congress finally declared candidates on 63 out of total of 70 seats in Uttarakhand. It may be recalled that BJP has already announced all its candidates.

As was being speculated over past few days, Chief Minister Harish Rawat will contest from two seats namely, Haridwar Rural in district Haridwar and Kichha in district Udham Singh Nagar. Interestingly, both of these seats fall in the Terai area rather than in the hills and rather strange for a CM who claims to be a simple Pahadi and a man of Gaad and Gadheras (Mountain springs in the hills). Not only this, even the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) Chief Kishore Upadhyay too ditched his own traditional seat of Tehri and decided to contest instead from Sahaspur, which is also a plains seat. However, what goes in favour of CM and PCC chief is that they have decided to contest from seats which are not held by the Congress currently.

Also, though the Chief Minister Harish Rawat has been issuing appeal to the people of Uttarakhand to teach the Congress rebels who joined the BJP by defeating them, the Congress list also contains at least 5 such BJP leaders who have been given ticket after they failed to get BJP ticket. They are Shailendra Rawat from Yamkeshwar, Suresh Jain from Roorkee, Rajkumar from Purola (SC). In addition, ickets were also given to Dan Singh Bhandari from Bhimtal and Bhimlal Arya from Ghansali, both of whom were BJP MLAs before they ditched the party some time ago.

Sources said that Congress might also give tickets to at least two more BJP rebels in Jaspur and in Dhanolti respectively. Tickets have also been given to Harish Chandra Durgapal and Mantri Prasad Naithani who had fought last time as independents and are now part of PDF. More tickets could be announced to PDF members.

In addition, Congress has also given tickets to some BSP leaders who had joined the party some time ago. They include Haji Taslim Ahmed from Laksar (he was a ticket aspirant from the BSP and is a former BSP MLA), Chaudhary Yashvir Singh (former BSP MLA) from Khanpur.

Although the list has a number of new names but it also has a few big names in it. They include Indira Hridayesh from Haldwani, Pritam Singh from Chakrata, Surendra Singh Negi from Kotdwar and Dinesh Agarwal from Dharampur.

The following is a list of candidates announced by the Congress:

 S.No Assembly

Constituency No.

Name of


1 1 Purola (SC) Rajkumar
2 2 Yamunotri Sanjay Dobhal
3 3 Gangotri Vijaypal Sajwan
4 4 Badrinath Rajendra Bhandari
5 5 Tharali (SC) Jeetram Arya
6 6 Karnprayag Anusuya Maikhuri
7 7 Kedarnath Manoj Rawat
8 8 Rudraprayag Laxmi Rana
9 9 Ghansali (SC) Bhimlal Arya
10 10 Deoprayag Mantri Prasad Naithani
11 11 Narendranagar Himanshu Bijalwan
12 12 Pratapnagar Vikram Singh Bist
13 15 Chakrata (ST) Preetam Singh
14 16 Vikasnagar Nav Prabhat
15 17 Sahaspur Kishore Upadhyay
16 18 Dharampur Dinesh Agarwal
17 20 Rajpur Road (SC) Raj Kumar
18 21 Dehradun Cantt Suryakant Dhasmana
19 22 Mussoorie Godavari Thapli
20 23 Doiwala Hira Singh Bisht
21 24 Rishikesh Rajpal Kharola
22 25 Haridwar Brahmswarup Brahmchari
23 26 BHEL Ranipur Ambrish Kumar
24 27 Jwalapur (SC) Shishpal Singh
25 28 Bhagwanpur (SC) Mamta Rakesh
26 29 Jhabreda (SC) Rajpal Singh
27 30 Pirankaliyar Furkan Ahmed
28 31 Roorkee Suresh Jain
29 32 Khanpur Yashvir Singh
30 33 Manglaur Qazi Nizamuddin
31 34 Laksar Haji Taslim Ahmed
32 35 Haridwar Rural Harish Rawat
33 36 Yamkeshwar Shailendra Rawat
34 37 Pauri (SC) Nawal Kishore
35 38 Srinagar Ganesh Godiyal
36 39 Chaubattakhal Rajpal Singh Bisht
37 40 Lansdowne TPS Rawat
38 41 Kotdwar Surendra Singh Negi
39 42 Dharchula Harish Dhami
40 43 Didihat Pradeep Singh Pal
41 44 Pithoragarh Mayukh Singh Mahar
42 45 Gangolihat-SC Narayan Ram Arya
43 46 Kapkote Lalit Farswan
44 48 Dwarahat Madan Singh Bist
45 49 Salt Ganga Pachauli
46 50 Ranikhet Karan Mahra
47 52 Almora Manoj Tiwari
48 53 Jageshwar Govind Singh Kunjwal
49 54 Lohaghat Kushal Singh Adhikari
50 55 Champawat Hemesh Kharkwal
51 56 Lalkuan Harish Chandra Durgapal
52 57 Bhimtal Dan Singh Bhandari
53 58 Nainital (SC) Sarita Arya
54 59 Haldwani Indira Hridayesh
55 60 Kaladhungi Prakash Joshi
56 61 Ramnagar Ranjit Rawat
57 63 Kashipur Manoj Joshi
58 64 Bajpur (SC) Sunita Tamta Bajwa
59 66 Rudrapur Tilak Raj Behad
60 67 Kichha Harish Rawat
61 68 Sitarganj Malti Bishwas
62 69 Nanak Matta (ST) Gopal Singh Rana
63 70 Khatima

Bhuvan Chandra Kapri